Ascentra Credit Union Awards $10,000 in Scholarships

  • Jun 12, 2020

Girl opening scholarship letter
The Ascentra Scholarship Program has awarded its 2020 scholarships to ten area students and members of the credit union.  These ten future leaders were selected to receive $1,000 each to help get one step closer to achieving their academic goals.

Five $1,000 scholarships are awarded to traditional high school students planning to enter college, and the other five $1,000 scholarships are awarded to non-traditional students age 19 or over planning to attend college, trade school, or even to earn an advanced degree.  The Ascentra Scholarship Program is unique in that students can apply every year they are enrolled as a student. 

This year’s high school scholarship winners include:

  • Lauren Buechel, Bettendorf, Iowa
  • Seth Hoffman, Muscatine, Iowa
  • Sofia Mojica, Moline, Illinois
  • Ashton Snarr, Davenport, Iowa
  • Moriah Stewart, Garner, Iowa

The non-traditional or continuing education winners include:

  • Kathleen Byrne, Bettendorf, Iowa
  • Sara Garland, Dixon, Iowa
  • Rachel Holm, Bettendorf, Iowa
  • Ann Kingsbury, Davenport, Iowa
  • Gabrielle VanderVinne, Bettendorf, Iowa

All entries are judged on their essay, resume, awards, extracurricular activities, volunteer services and work experience.  The competition is announced every October with the deadline in March of the following year.

“It’s very rewarding to see our members utilizing this member benefit to help offset the increasing costs of higher education,” said Jennifer Naeve, Ascentra Chief Marketing Officer. 

Learn more about this year’s scholarship winners, the official Ascentra Scholarship Program rules and other scholarship opportunities at